Talking Under Random Dribble

I’ve recently been assigned the task of giving a speech at a friend’s wedding(and by ‘recently’ I mean ‘six months ago’, but in the mind of the aggrieved procrastinator every task has only ever been assigned ‘recently’). Fantastic! I thought, having given a Best Man’s speech before, giving a speech as a random wedding attendee should be a walk in the park! Then came the killer caveat, the ‘almost’ at the end of “Superman is almost invincible”:

“If you do it impromptu, I’ll kill you.”.

And in that second my friend had transformed herself from the supportive friend doing me the honour of wanting me to speak at her wedding, to Lex Luthor cruelly insisting Clark Kent punch through a wall of steel whilst hanging a block of kryptonite over his head. Damn you Lex!

How could I not be impromptu, I wondered. Some of the best things in…

View original post 699 more words

Leave a Reply

